Skip to main content

Our Formation and Purpose

In 1993 the El Dorado County Transportation Commission (EDCTC) was administratively reorganized and separated from El Dorado County. The EDCTC provides widespread and balanced representation for El Dorado County. 

The Commission is comprised of nine members: seven are elected officials representing local jurisdictions. Of the seven elected, voting officials, three are City of Placerville Council members and four are El Dorado County Supervisors. The two non-voting advisory members represent the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans, District 3) and the City of South Lake Tahoe. EDCTC staff consists of an Executive Director, two Senior Transportation Planners, an Administrative Services Officer, and an Executive Assistant. 

The EDCTC was designated as the Regional Transportation Planning Agency (RTPA) for El Dorado County on July 23, 1975. As the RTPA, the EDCTC serves as the planning and programming authority for transportation projects on the western slope of El Dorado County, excluding those areas within the Tahoe Regional Planning Agency boundaries. 

In 2008, the EDCTC was designated as the Airport Land Use Commission for the Placerville, Georgetown, and Cameron Park Airports. The EDCTC also manages the Freeway Service Patrol for US 50 in El Dorado County.

The EDCTC is responsible for coordinating regional transportation planning for the western slope of El Dorado County. Being the State-mandated Regional Transportation Planning Agency, EDCTC prepares the Regional Transportation Plan and Improvement Program for the Western Slope. This Plan is updated every five years.

An Overall Work Program (OWP) is updated throughout the year describing the programs and projects that will be funded or managed by the EDCTC. The OWP includes the annual Budget and Goals and Objectives. This document is available on this website under the “About EDCTC” tab.